1689 Baptist Confession

ARBCA is a full subscription Association of churches. Each church fully subscribes to each doctrine of the confession. Below is a list of the chapters of the confession. Click on a chapter to proceed to the chapter page with scripture proofs.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: Of the Holy Scriptures
Chapter 2: Of God and the Holy Trinity
Chapter 3: Of God's Decree
Chapter 4: Of Creation
Chapter 5: Of Divine Providence
Chapter 6: Of the Fall of Man, of Sin, and of the punishment thereof
Chapter 7: Of God's Covenant
Chapter 8: Of Christ the Mediator
Chapter 9: Of Free Will
Chapter 10: Of Effectual Calling
Chapter 11: Of Justification
Chapter 12: Of Adoption
Chapter 13: Of Sanctification
Chapter 14: Of Saving Faith
Chapter 15: Of Repentance unto Life and Salvation
Chapter 16: Of Good Works
Chapter 17: Of the Perseverance of the Saints
Chapter 18: Of the Assurance of Grace and Salvation
Chapter 19: Of the Law of God
Chapter 20: Of the Gospel and the Extent of Grace thereof
Chapter 21: Of Christian Liberty and Liberty of Conscience
Chapter 22: Of Religious Worship and the Sabbath Day
Chapter 23: Of Lawful Oaths and Vows
Chapter 24: Of the Civil Magistrate
Chapter 25: Of Marriage
Chapter 26: Of the Church
Chapter 27: Of the Communion of Saints
Chapter 28: Of Baptism and the Lord's Supper
Chapter 29: Of Baptism
Chapter 30: Of the Lord's Supper
Chapter 31: Of the State of Man after Death, and of the Resurrection of the Dead
Chapter 32: Of the Last Judgement
Closing Statement and Signatories